Sweet 16 for my Sweet and Sassy Carrie

Happy 16th Birthday, Carrie! I’m 99% sure I’ve used Sassy in a birthday blog headline for you before, but it really does encapsulate your personality. I did search the thesaurus for another word but saucy, brazen and cheeky don’t really cut it, so sassy it remains.

You’ve had quite the year, my dear, one filled with new adventures that include taking up a new sport (lacrosse!) and driving with your permit. Dare I say that I actually kind of enjoyed sitting in the passenger seat when you were behind the wheel? I’m not sure if it’s because you’re the third kid and I’ve mellowed (a little) or if you’re just a better driver than your sisters were at 15. But just like your sisters, when asked who you prefer to drive with you, you pick Dad over me.

While I’m relatively calm in the passenger seat when you drive, I get pretty excited watching you play lacrosse. Throughout your soccer career, you felt most comfortable on defense, but when you decided to play lacrosse, you opted to change to middie. For those not in the know, middie means midfielder, and is a player who plays both offense and defense. Your goal for the year was to score a goal, and you’ve accomplished that, doing so in the game against Woodside.

You of course grow and change every year, but this year I’ve seen you really blossom into an incredibily funny, self-confident and delightful teenager. Yes, you read that right. Delightful. One of my favorite things to do with you as the night ends, is going into your room to say good night and chatting with you. Sometimes it’s about the day. Sometimes it’s completely random but it’s always entertaining. While I don’t know what we’ll talk about, I do know I’ll leave laughing with a smile on my face. You’ve got an uncanny ability to light up a room and draw people to you with a gravitational pull.

The youngest child usually gets a bad rap for taking the easy way out, but that’s not you. I’ve seen you work hard at just about everything you do whether it’s sports, school or mastering hairstyles using a Dyson Airwrap (thanks Auntie for that).

You’ve taken full advantage of Erin’s last year living at home before she goes away to college, making Target runs and trips to the mall. For the first time ever, that means you will be an only child at home. You’re already dreading that day, but I’m relishing it.

Get ready Carrie! You’re in for a treat.

I love you!

Mom

Leave a comment