Happy 20th Birthday, Olivia!

I’m so used to writing these birthday blogs with institutional knowledge of what you did almost every day of the last 365 days. Since you no longer live at home, that’s no longer the case. On the one hand, it’s sad, but on the other, I love seeing the independent woman you’re becoming. You are strong, driven, and resilient and usually have a glass-half-full attitude. You also have a strong stubborn streak, which you likely inherited from Dad and me.

Unless you’re home on break or going on vacation with us, I only know what you tell me. Don’t take this as an invitation to stop texting or calling me. I want to know as much as you’re willing to tell me (at least, I think I do).

When you do call, I usually pick up before the first ring is complete, and I can’t remember a time when I haven’t responded to one of your texts. Wait, I take that back. I don’t always respond to your Wordle results. I’m glad you still rely on me to talk you off the proverbial ledge when you’ve had a bad day at work, tell me a random thought that popped into your head, or ask what you should include in a cover letter. I hope that never changes, even when you’re 30, 40, and 50+.

I’m still learning, though, that when you do call, I need to ask if you actually want my advice or just want me to listen. For the last couple of years, I’ve tried to take a little more hands-off approach, and as I’m sure you’ll be quick to tell me, with varied success.

During the time you’ve been home on break or we’ve been on a family vacation, I’ve gotten a peek into who you’re becoming as an adult. On vacations, you’re someone that loathes slow walkers and loves finding delicious local food. You’re also the person who will strike up a conversation with just about anyone, be it on planes, ferries, or on a bicycle tour of Copenhagen.

At home, it’s still a delicate dance for all of us, trying to give you enough space, especially when baking in the kitchen. Given a choice, I’ll always opt to have you home. I can always count on you to join me on grocery and Costco runs, and most days, go with me while I walk Jolene. Although you have a hard time sitting still, we all (dogs included) love it when you veg out on the couch with us to watch TV.

Another byproduct of you living more than 800 miles away from me is I now have a limited number of photos of you in my camera roll. That would limit how many photos I include in your birthday blog, but thankfully your friend came to the rescue and shared a few pictures.

I usually end these birthday blogs with some words of advice or wisdom for you, but in my ongoing attempt to talk less and listen more, I won’t do that this time. I’ll simply say, I love you, kiddo!

Mom

Leave a comment