Cheers to Olivia Turning 21!

Happy Happy 21st birthday, Olivia! It’s another big milestone birthday which now affords you the luxury of using your real ID when going out to bars and restaurants or buying a giant bottle of $10 Cook’s sparkling wine at Safeway. As your Mom, I expect to be the one to teach you things, but I’ve learned from you that you can’t really taste the difference between cheap sparkling wine with plastic corks and a $25 dollar bottle of Trader Joe’s sparkling wine when mixed with OJ for a mimosa.

As the years progress, I see you for brief snapshots in time; school breaks, road trips to and from UDub, family gatherings and holidays, and a one-off weekend running a half marathon. I truly treasure these times together, even when we get on each other’s nerves and have hard conversations. This is part of growing up and becoming an adult, and even though I no longer have a front-row seat to all things Olivia, I like what I’m seeing from the cheap seats.

Some of the things that I see are simply part of your DNA. You’re someone who is quick to smile and burst out laughing. You don’t shy away from a challenge, and you work your butt off to achieve your goals. You’re also thoughtful, especially when it comes to grabbing a coffee for others (and yourself).

All of these traits were in play a couple of weeks ago when you completed your first half-marathon! This became a goal of yours several months ago and I remember you calling me up asking if I wanted to do it too. How could I say no? My oldest daughter asked me to do this really hard thing with her. It wasn’t just a yes. It was a heck yes! The morning of the race you were all smiles and laughs. When the race got hard, you kept going despite a side stitch and throwing up. And you achieved something very few people do. You ran 13.1 miles and after you crossed the finish line, that trademark smile of yours returned! Those two hours pretty much encompass the best of you, Olivia.

When I saw you struggling, my first instinct was to try to ease your pain and make things better. I asked if you wanted me to stay with you and you said no and waved me off. I reluctantly left, but not before giving you a few words of advice to help with the side stitch pain– take deep breaths and push your fingers as hard as you can into the stitch. Watching you finish was pure joy.

This is where I devolve into a cheesy metaphor, but you’ve been warned. I will always be one of your biggest cheerleaders, yelling at the top of my lungs from the sidelines. Maybe next year it will be with a bottle of Cook’s (or something a little fancier).

I love you, kiddo! Happy Birthday!

Mom

Leave a comment