Olivia is 19, yes 19!

Happy 19th Birthday, Olivia!

I know that 18 is usually considered one of the biggest milestone birthdays, but 19 deserves its own big celebration and I’ve got no doubt you’ll be celebrating big time! You’re not only officially an adult, but you’ve also flown the coop. Since chickens don’t really fly, I guess saying you’ve spread your wings and soared wouldn’t really work in this flying the coop metaphor, so I’ll simply say my baby chick has really grown up in this last year.

I’ve seen you four times since you headed north for college last September, and each time I see you again, I keep looking to see how you’ve changed. Some things are physical, like another piercing or a wardrobe with many more UDub emblazoned sweatshirts and t-shirts, but others are more nuanced, like hearing you talk about your Poli Sci class or how you navigated a sticky situation. I know I’m privy to only a fraction of those sticky situation stories, and while you know I’d love to know all the details of your college life (well maybe not all), I’m also proud of your independence. Yes, you’re at college to get an education and go on a path that will lead to an eventual career, but as you’re now figuring out, it’s also about figuring out who you are.

At your core, you’re still who you’ve always been; an extremely outgoing and social person who can strike up a conversation with just about anyone. My unsolicited advice to you is to stay true to yourself and live by your own principles, regardless of making someone mad. As the people pleasing person that you are, you’re not one to tell someone you’re upset with them (unless it’s me, Dad, or your sisters). Use that voice of yours to speak your truth and be ok with the fact that not everyone will like you. Sometimes it’s more important to stand up for what you truly believe than it is to make friends.

Since you no longer live at home, I don’t have the daily interactions to pull funny stories and anecdotes (but I bet your sorority sisters have plenty), but it is nice to see some things stay the same when you do come home. This last time, it took you less than two hours from the time you landed to making a grocery store run, all in the name of buying ingredients for pie, muffins and cookies. Never mind the fact that you were going to be home for only two days before leaving for Spring Break.  All the pie got eaten as did the cookies, and the remaining muffins are safely stowed away in the freezer. I not only miss seeing you every day, but I also miss your baking skills. You’ve been a coffee lover long before moving to Seattle and I’ve appreciated the midday coffee runs you made for us on your quick trips back to Redwood City.

And speaking of trips, you’re always up for an adventure, no matter where it is, and often times you don’t know where you’re going. Among the many things you inherited from me is your sense of direction (or lack thereof), but you somehow make getting lost actually kind of fun. You may not know the route, but we eventually arrive at our destination, even it’s the very scene route. Over the summer, we saw some interesting parts of Kingsport, Tennessee thanks to your navigation skills.

Our car ride went something like this:

Me: “Do we need to turn here?” You: “Let’s see what happens if you do.” Me: “What does Google Maps say?” You: “Who needs Google Maps?” Me: “……”

When I mentioned to Erin that I was working on your birthday blog, she asked at what age do they come to an end. It’s a good question, and I think as long as you keep reading them, I’ll keep writing them.

I love you, kiddo.

Mom

Leave a comment