The MRI is Normal!

24 Dec

The MRI is normal. Those are four words I prayed I would hear, and today my prayers were answered. This truly is the best Christmas Eve for this Jew girl. It may sound dramatic, but after a month of trying to figure out exactly what is making Olivia sick, we know what’s NOT causing her headaches, confusion, loss of balance, numbness, and vomiting. The MRI ruled out a tumor, stroke, or other awful diseases. This leads Olivia’s doctors to be more and more confident that a hemiplegic migraine is the culprit.

Now we just need to find the right cocktail of medicines to help her manage her migraines. Right now, it appears the current cocktail is making her symptoms worse. ¬†As someone who doesn’t suffer from migraines, I’m at a loss to help her. All I can do is continue to call her doctors on a near daily basis, explain her current symptoms, and have them adjust the medications accordingly.

As relieved as I am at today’s news, I can only imagine what Olivia is feeling. I think she’s kind of taking cues from me. She saw how happy I was after I got off the phone with her pediatrician, so that made her happy. I tried to explain as best I could what a normal MRI meant. All she asked after I told her was this, “So this means I do have migraines?”

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. As much as I hope she doesn’t, it sure as hell beats anything a brain MRI might show.

One Response to “The MRI is Normal!”

  1. Eva Lindahl December 25, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    Yay, yay, yay! Happy dance for Olivia!!! SO glad it wasn’t something in her brain. Whew, too close for comfort.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

