Middle Outing

24 Nov

It’s a holiday weekend, so of course we have a sick household. My morning started with a 5 a.m. puke-up call by a certain 4-year old. Her oldest sister wasn’t far behind her and the puke-a-palooza has continued for much of the day. With two of the three girls down for the count, I wanted to get the middle child as far away from her sisters as possible. It’s also a ridiculously beautiful day, which gave me a perfect opportunity to get some rare one-on-one time with my favorite 6-year-old.

Her sisters may not have had an appetite, but she sure did, and she tore into “The Barry Bonds” sandwich at Ike’s Lair.

Digging In

It is a monster sized sandwich so I made her share, but she didn’t seem to mind.

With full bellies, we headed toward the coast to check out Frontierland. It’s a park about 30 minutes from our house in Pacifica and it’s awesome! Normally, this place would be fogged in, but not today. I don’t know if everyone else was out shopping, but there were only a few other families taking advantage of this gem of a park on a picture perfect afternoon.

 

With nearly an entire huge play structure to herself, she swung….

monkeyed around…..

 

and tried to keep her balance.

 

But most of all, I think she just liked having my undivided attention for at least a couple of hours.

I’ve got to admit, I relished it. Her giggles made me giggle. Her smile made me smile.

And her obvious happiness made me beyond happy. It’s too bad it took two really sick kids to make this outing possible. I can’t remember the last time its been just the two of us.

Don’t get me wrong, I love family time. In fact, we were supposed to have a great outing in Sonoma with friends. But with that out of the question, this was a great alternative, one I hope to do more often with each of the girls.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

